2017 NLDS schedule: Nationals vs. Cubs

Division series begins Friday, Oct. 6 in Washington

In arguably the most intriguing of first-round matchups in the 2017 MLB playoffs, the Washington Nationals will face the Chicago Cubs in the National League Division Series, which begins on Friday, Oct. 6.

The defending World Series champion Cubs are back in the postseason for a third consecutive season, clinching their second straight National League Central division title on Wednesday night. The Nationals have been well out in front in the NL East since April and were the first MLB team to secure a playoff berth, clinching their division on Sept. 10.

Washington has won two straight NL East titles and has four division titles in the last six years. Chicago has reached the postseason in three straight years for the first time since 1906-08.

The Nationals won four of the seven games between the two teams in the regular season, splitting four games in Washington June 26-29 and taking two of three at Wrigley Field Aug. 4-6.

Washington (97-65) will have home-field advantage over the Cubs (92-70) in the best-of-five division series, with the first two games at Nationals Park in Washington D.C.

Nationals vs. Cubs NLDS schedule

Game 1Fri, Oct 6Nationals Park7:31 p.m.TBS
Game 2Sat, Oct 7Nationals Park5:38 p.m.TBS
Game 3Mon, Oct 9Wrigley FieldTBDTBS
Game 4*Tue, Oct 10Wrigley FieldTBDTBS
Game 5*Thu, Oct 12Nationals ParkTBDTBS

*if necessary All times ET

Game times will be determined at a later date. The NLDS, and the entire National League playoffs in 2017, will be televised by TBS.