For me, this is a new one:
— TLU Bulldogs (@tluathletics) September 17, 2017
Division III Texas Lutheran tried a field goal. The kick got blocked, but the kicker stuck with the play. As the ball bounced back to him, he kicked it again — all on the same play — and put it through the uprights. This, apparently, counted as a legal field goal.
It got booked like this:
Is re-kicking a blocked kick actually legal?
It’s probably not legal.
The NCAA’s football rulebook says “a player shall not kick a loose ball,” and doing so is a 10-yard penalty that carries a loss of down.
Is this loose ball, then? I think it is:
A loose ball is a live ball not in player possession during:
1. A running play.
2. A scrimmage or free kick before possession is gained or regained or the ball is dead by rule.
The kicking team’s allowed to pick up a blocked field goal and “advance” it, which is different than double-kicking it. From the rulebook:
A scrimmage kick that fails to cross the neutral zone continues in play. All players may catch or recover the ball behind the neutral zone and advance it.
The blocking of a scrimmage kick by an opponent of the kicking team who is not more than three yards beyond the neutral zone is considered to have occurred within or behind that zone.
That means blocked field goals are recoverable by the kicking team and can be run forward, for sure. We saw that recently in another DIII game, where an offensive lineman caught a blocked PAT and rumbled ahead for a two-point conversion:
If it turns out the double-kick wasn’t legal, I’ll be devastated that this act of special teams wizardry isn’t strictly within the bounds of the rulebook.